Raajapathy Nava Kailasam

The Nava Kailasam Temples are Navagraha Temples where Lord Shiva itself is considered the particular Graham or planet. All the Temples are situated on the banks of the river Thamirabarani. As per mythology, Sage Agasthya came down South to balance the world when everyone assembled in Kailasam. Lord Pasupathi advised Agasthya to move to South to balance the earth. The rishi obeyed the commands of the Lord. Sage agasthiyar was doing penance in the podhikai hills. One of his prime disciples was ur Omacha munivar. He prayed Lord pashupathi to get liberation.

The Lord wanted to bless this to him through his guru agasthiyar. agasthiyar put nine flowers in the river and asked uromacha munivar to install a shiva lingam as kailasha nathar, wherever the flowers dock on the bank and finally bathe and worship the Lord in the place where the river joins the ocean, by doing so he would get what he wished. Adhering to his guru's words, munivar worshipped the Stain-thraoted Lord in the nine places where the nine flowers stopped in the form of shiva lingam and finally bathed in the place where thamiraparani joined the ocean and got liberated. These nine abodes are called Nava Kayilayam

Kailasa Nathar Temple, Raajapathy Kedhu)
  The Eighth Nava Kailasam temple is in a village called Rajapathi. It is 20 Kms from Tiruchendur.While the Lord is Kailasanathar, the Mother is Soundaranayaki or Azhagiyaponnammai. The planet Ketu is associated with this temple. Kurumbur is 40 km from Tirunelveli on the Tiruchendur road. Rajapathi is 5 km from Kurumbur on the Eral Road. From Sethu Subramaniapuram it is 25 km from Tuticorin on Nazreth Road. Rajapathy is 1 km far from Sethusubramaniapuram.

Legend- Sage Romasa, the fist disciple of Sage Agasthya sought suggestion from his Guru for attaining total salvation ending the cycle of births and deaths. The Guru advised the disciple to place 9 flowers in the Tambirabarani River created by him and worship Lord Shiva at each place a flower touched the bank. This worship would help him realize his wish, said sage Agasthya. Sage Romasa followed his Guru Agasthya's advice meticulously. The last flower touched the banks of the river in Rajapathy. Sage worshipped Lord Shiva here and realized his wish. The place is named after the palace of Pandya king belonging to the Chandra dynasty - Raja-King, Pathi-Place. The temple was ruined due to the fury of floods. With the steps taken by Shiva devotees, the new temple was built.

Temple Specialty  This is the place where Ketu worshipped Lord Shiva - Kailasanathar, hence praised as Kethu Parihara Sthala. There is only a disfigured Shiva Linga. There are four wheel figures on all sides of the Linga. It is said that there is a temple buried under this Linga. Ragu rules 7 years in a person's life. It is advised that the person under this period worship Lord in this temple during this period. Devotees pray here for good farm yields, health, child bon, health of cattle, job opportunities and progress in trade and offer various farm produces as their prayer commitment to Lord and Mother. On Pradosha days, they offer various puja materials and fruits for the pujas.

The temple conducts Ketu Parihara pujas between 12.00 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. on Sundays and between 9.00 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. on Tuesdays with Yajnas. Devotees participate in this pujas for removal of obstacles in wedding proposals, adverse aspects of planets for cure from hyper tension, diabetics, asthma etc. They also derive benefits of child boon and other developments in life.

The first puja for the consecration of Rajapathi Kailasanathar temple began on the day when the Raja Gopuram of the Kalahasthi temple was damaged. Hence, this place and temple is regarded as Then Kalahasti - Kalahasthi of South. This temple is praised equal in reputation to the Kethu Sthala in Keel Perum Pallam temple in Nagapattinam district. Along with Aadhi Kailasanathar, Lord Kailasa Nathar and Soundarya Nayaki bless the devotees from this holy soil.

Morning Pooja Time : 6.00 A.M - 11.00 P.M
Evening Pooja Time : 4.00 P.M - 8.00 P.M